Supporting Organizations

National Science Foundation (NSF)

The National Science Foundation is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 to promote the progress of science and research knowledge in the United States.  Since the  inception in the early 2000s of the Racial Democracy, Crime and Justice Network (RDCJN), its activities have been supported by grants from NSF's Sociology and Law and Social Sciences' programs, including the following:  SES-0531536, SES-0731473, SES-0925068, SES-1229098, SES-1530728.  The Network is especially indebted to Dr. Patricia White, former Program Director of Sociology.  Early on, Dr. White recognized the potential of our vision for broadening participation.  Her high standards and expectations provide an added measure of motivation for us to work harder and achieve more.  We are also grateful to current Sociology Directors are Drs. Katherine Meyer and Marie Cornwall.  NSF support has also come from a series of Law and Social Sciences' Program Directors, most recently Drs. Scott Barclay and Mark Hurwitz. 

National Institute of Justice (NIJ)

The National Institute of Justice is “the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice.”  This Institute “is dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues through science,” and providing “objective and independent knowledge and tools to inform the decision-making of the criminal justice community to reduce crime and advance justice, ... .“  In line with its mission and through its collaborative partnership with the National Science Foundation, NIJ provides support for a Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) that accompanies the work of the Racial Democracy, Crime and Justice Network and its Summer Research Institute.  The Network is especially indebted to former Director, Dr. Nancy Rodriguez, and now Director, Dr. Howard Spivak, for their vision of bolstering the research infrastructure in part by supporting young scholars.  In this case, NIJ’s support recognizes the importance of providing for a pipeline to encourage promising young scholars from underrepresented groups to pursue research careers that will ultimately increase the availability of research findings and data regarding crime and criminal justice.

Rutgers University-Newark's School of Criminal Justice (RSCJ)

Rutgers University-Newark's School of Criminal Justice was founded almost forty years ago, and every since opening its doors, the school has been recognized among the leading programs in the field. Over the years, Rutgers School of Criminal Justice's faculty have made significant contributions to criminal justice policy and criminological theory, and the school's graduates have taken their places among the most productive and well-respected scholars in the field. Today, studies show that Rutgers School of Criminal Justice continues to rank among the top criminal justice programs, nationwide, with special regard to the school's graduate programs. The School has provided supplemental support for the staff of the RDCJN and the SRI.  As well, it has provided space and other in-kind support to house the Summer Research Institute and the RDCJN Workshop.

The Ohio State University Criminal Justice Research Center (CJRC)

The Criminal Justice Research Center was established in 1989 as the focal point for collaborative interdisciplinary research and intellectual exchange on crime/delinquency and justice issues at Ohio State University (OSU). Until 2016, CJRC served as the home for the RDCJN.  Under its Directors (formerly Dr. Ruth Peterson and now Dr. Dana Haynie), from the program's inception until its move to Rutgers University, CJRC generously provided supplemental funds as well as space and administrative support for the activities of the RDCJN, especially its Crime and Justice Summer Research Institute (SRI).  The Center also garnered support from a variety of other units at Ohio State (e.g., College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Sociology, Glenn School of Public Affairs, Institute for Population Research, Office of Diversity and Inclusion, The Women's Place, etc.) to support the program.

Beyond NSF, Rutgers and Ohio State

Beyond NSF, NIJ, Rutgers University, and Ohio State University, a number of Universities have generously sponsored their own graduate students' attendance at the Annual RDCJN Workshops, including:

Finally, Faculty throughout the United States have given their time and energy to serve as project reviewers or mentors for young scholars participating in the RDCJN's summer institute.  To date, beyond the 30-plus scholars at Ohio State and Rutgers University, approximately 55 scholars from around the country have served in one or both of these roles.